“‘Blue Lights’ is an instant Christmas classic.” —Louie Free, WGFT AM, Ohio

“Mary Lyn has the voice of the very angels.” —Guillermo Henry, Radio Etiopía, Mexico City

“Her music reminds me of a wide beach, of America.” —George Shtefan, a musician in Yugoslavia

Download CD or individual tracks at Mary Lyn Maiscott - Blue Lights

Friday, February 1, 2008

Mexican Radio

The book that started it all in Mexico.

As my husband, Robert Rosen, just pointed out to me, John Lennon opened the door for us in Mexico, and we walked through it. The people of Mexico, Chile, and other parts of Latin America have been extraordinarily receptive to Bob as the author of the Lennon biography Nowhere Man. Now they’re beginning to extend to me the same openness: Guillermo Henry is featuring my CD, Blue Lights, on his Mexico City radio show, “Radio Etiopía,” on Radio UNAM this Monday, February 4, at 11 p.m. in Mexico City and Central time in the US—midnight Eastern time, 10 p.m. Rocky Mountain, 9 p.m. Pacific, 5 a.m. on Feb 5 in the UK and 6 a.m. in Western Europe. The program, named for the Patti Smith album, is free-form radio—talk (mostly Spanish, of course) mixed with poetry mixed with music of all kinds. If you’d like to tune in, follow the instructions below:

1. Click here

Click on FM

Click on one of the players: Real Player, Winamp, or Windows Media Player

If you’re in Mexico City or an outlying area, you can listen on your radio at XEUN 96.1 FM. (Si está en el DF, puede escuchar en su radio en
XEUN FM 96.1.)

The station does not archive.

Getting back to John Lennon, perhaps Guillermo will play my version of the Beatles’ “You Can’t Do That,” which we just put up on my MySpace player. Muchas gracias to Guillermo and to all of you!